Josephine Evans Awarded Sir James Irwin President’s Medal

We are proud to announce that Josephine Evans (Director) has been awarded the Sir James Irwin President’s Medal at the 2023 South Australian Architecture Awards. This is an incredible achievement and is a testament to the commitment, dedication and passion for design that Josephine shows in the studio every day. Her collaborative design philosophy, creative industry involvement and commitment to design excellence is inspiring and positively impacts our studio culture and the way we work.

“I am thrilled and humbled to have received this award. What drives me is a lifelong appreciation for the arts, culture and creative eco-system and the role that architecture and design plays, both historically and for the future. What and how we design has a profound impact on community, the environment and how we see the world.” - Josephine Evans

Adrian Evans, previous Director of JPE Design Studio also received the Sir James Irwin President’s Medal in 2013.

Chris Morley, SA Chapter President, Australian Institute of Architects, Citation:

“This year’s Sir James Irwin President’s Medal is awarded to Josephine Evans, who has shown unwavering commitment to the elevation of architecture and design across South Australia.

Post-graduation Jo initially spent 5 years interstate with Cox Architecture (Melbourne) and JCY Architects (Perth) working on a range of major projects. These formative years no doubt lay the foundation for Jo’s return to Adelaide, where she began to really make her mark.

In her 14 years at JPE Design Studio, Jo has worked on projects of varying sizes across a diverse range of sectors, including education, commercial, public buildings, and master planning. She was made a Principal in 2013 and a Director in 2018.

Her comprehensive portfolio showcases her versatility and ability to navigate architectural challenges with proficiency and creativity. Jo is widely respected for her collaborative approach and sustained commitment to understanding the needs of clients and end-users. These skills have made her instrumental in delivering successful project outcomes, many of which have been recognised through the SA Architecture Awards.

Beyond her remarkable career achievements, Jo is a passionate advocate for the architectural profession.She has been a Committee Member for Place SA and an SA Chapter Councillor since 2019, actively engaging in the advancement of the profession. Jo was instrumental in the establishment of the SA Creative Industries Think Tank and continues to lead the way as this initiative evolves into the Creative Alliance Committee.

Through the Think Tank and Creative Alliance, Jo has made connections and deepened relationships with over 30 established and emerging creative disciplines.Her leadership ensured that architecture was included as a creative industry profession in the 2020 Creative Industries Strategy for SA. Jo’s commitment to forging bonds with the arts industry is exemplified in JPE’s Artist in Residence program, offered in association with Guildhouse.

Jo’s holistic approach to design, her commitment to client relationships, and her dedication to advancing the architectural profession makes her a truly deserving recipient of the Sir James Irwin President’s Medal. Her outstanding career achievements and her tireless efforts to create a built environment that is both functional and inspiring have had a profound impact on the architectural landscape of South Australia.”